How to Merge Duplicate Chart Numbers in Clinic Essentials

Patient Merge

September 15, 2014

Merging involves two chart numbers that were created or duplicated for the same patient and blending them into one record.

This reduces the chance of sending duplicate appointment reminders, duplicate billings, and incorrectly scheduled appointments.

Be certain that the two records you choose for merging belong to the same patient, as merging permanently removes the secondary record you select.

How do I merge records?

  • Click on Utilities > Patients Merge
  • Locate the patient chart you want to KEEP and highlight it
  • Click on the right arrow under Record to be left to insert the patient chart into the field
  • Locate the patient chart you want to MERGE and highlight it
  • Use the right arrow under Record to be Deleted and insert the patient chart into the field
  • Select Merge
  • Patient Information Utilities

    Return to Knowledge Base